Illinois Compass 2g Course Groups

The Course Groups feature allows instructors and students to create groups of students within a course. These Course Groups have their own area in Blackboard Learn to collaborate on Course work. These spaces are equipped with tools that can assist in this collaborative process.

Course Group Tools

The following tools are made available to a Course Group:

Group Blog
Users within the Group can add entries and comments to the Group Blog in order to share ideas. Group Blogs can be graded, but once a Group Blog is set to be graded, it cannot be changed. When a grade is added for a Group Blog, the grade is automatically given to all the members of the Group and is populated in the corresponding column in the Grade Center for each Group member. All members are assigned a grade, regardless if a member did not contribute. An individual member’s grade can be edited to assign a different grade than the Group’s. (Learn more on Blackboard's website)

Collaboration
Users within the Group can create and attend real-time Chat or Virtual Classroom sessions. (Learn more on Blackboard's website)

Group Discussion Board
Users within the Group can communicate as a Group, as well as create and manage their own forums. The Group Discussion Board is available only to Group members, not to the entire course. (Learn more on Blackboard's website)

File Exchange 
Users within the Group and Instructors can use this tool to upload documents to the Group area and organize them through the creation of folders in which their items are stored. All Group members and the Instructor can add files. They can also delete files, regardless of who added them. Files appear in the order they were uploaded. This tool is only available to Groups. (Learn more on Blackboard's website)

Send Email
Users within the Group can send email messages to selected members or the entire Group. (Learn more on Blackboard's website)

Group Journal
Users within the Group can share their thoughts with each other and communicate with the Instructor. Journal entries made in the Group Journal are visible to all Group members and the Instructor. Group Journals can be graded, but once a Group Journal is set to be graded, it cannot be changed. When a grade is added for a Group Journal, the grade is automatically given to all the members of the Group and is populated in the corresponding column in the Grade Center for each Group member. All members are assigned a grade, regardless if a member did not contribute. An individual member’s grade can be edited to assign a different grade than the Group’s. (Learn more on Blackboard's website)

Group Tasks
Users within the Group can define and separate the workload into tasks, while distributing the list to the entire Group. Each task has a status and a due date to help keep members on track. Group members can view the Group assigned tasks in the Group Tasks tool or in the Course Tasks tool. Other Course members and the Instructor will not see tasks for Groups they are not enrolled in when viewing the Course Tasks tool. (Learn more on Blackboard's website)

Group Wiki
Wikis are used to create a collaborative space for Group members to view, contribute, and edit content. By default, Group Wikis can be read by all Course members, but only members of the Group can make a comment on a Group Wiki page. The Instructor can change the default setting to allow only Group members to view a Group Wiki. Group Wikis can be graded, but once a Group Wiki is set to be graded, it cannot be changed. When a grade is added for a Group Wiki, the grade is automatically given to all the members of the Group and is populated in the corresponding column in the Grade Center for each Group member. All members are assigned a grade, regardless if a member did not contribute. An individual member’s grade can be edited to assign a different grade than the Group’s. (Learn more on Blackboard's website)